What Are Chakras and Why You Should Clear and Balance Them


The word “Chakra” was derived from the Sanskrit word “cakra”, which means “wheel”, but it could also mean “circle” or “cycle”. Indeed, in the human body, chakras are powerful centers of spiritual energy that are interconnected together, much like the cardiovascular system. Just like the other organ systems of the body, the chakras and the flow of energy through them should be in a state of homeostasis or stable balance to ensure good physical, mental and emotional well being. An imbalance in the chakras may lead to disease and mental and emotional distress.

The Seven Major Chakras

There are seven major chakras in the human body. The lower chakras in

ascending order are the following…

1) Muladhara or Root Chakra

Located at the base of your spine, the Root Chakra addresses your most basic needs of food, shelter and stability. It also regulates the connection of your body with your environment. An imbalance in the Root Chakra frequently manifests as digestive problems.

2) Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

Situated below your belly button, the Sacral Chakra is responsible for your creativity and imagination, and it also regulates the reproductive organs. This chakra enables you to cope with new situations and experiences and gives you that thrill and enthusiasm of exploring the wide world. An imbalance in the Sacral Chakra manifests as abdominal cramps, irregular and painful menstruation, or low libido.

3) Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Located above your belly button in the region of your stomach, its central location allows this chakra to maintain a healthy balance in your emotions and thoughts. It is also from the Solar Plexus Chakra where you develop self-love and enable you to accept your place in the grand scheme of the Universe. Solar Plexus Chakra imbalance will manifest as digestion problems and low self-esteem.

An imbalance in any or a combination of these lower chakras present as poor creativity and imagination, inability to visualize, readily accepts even an unacceptable situation because of a lack of ambition or higher dreams, poor reasoning power, a tendency to be overbearing and tactless, easily gets trapped Read more…