The word “Chakra” was derived from the Sanskrit word “cakra”, which means “wheel”, but it could also mean “circle” or “cycle”. Indeed, in the human body, chakras are powerful centers of spiritual energy that are interconnected together, much like the cardiovascular system. Just like the other organ systems of the body, the chakras and the flow of energy through them should be in a state of homeostasis or stable balance to ensure good physical, mental and emotional well being. An imbalance in the chakras may lead to disease and mental and emotional distress.

The Seven Major Chakras

There are seven major chakras in the human body. The lower chakras in

ascending order are the following…

1) Muladhara or Root Chakra

Located at the base of your spine, the Root Chakra addresses your most basic needs of food, shelter and stability. It also regulates the connection of your body with your environment. An imbalance in the Root Chakra frequently manifests as digestive problems.

2) Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

Situated below your belly button, the Sacral Chakra is responsible for your creativity and imagination, and it also regulates the reproductive organs. This chakra enables you to cope with new situations and experiences and gives you that thrill and enthusiasm of exploring the wide world. An imbalance in the Sacral Chakra manifests as abdominal cramps, irregular and painful menstruation, or low libido.

3) Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Located above your belly button in the region of your stomach, its central location allows this chakra to maintain a healthy balance in your emotions and thoughts. It is also from the Solar Plexus Chakra where you develop self-love and enable you to accept your place in the grand scheme of the Universe. Solar Plexus Chakra imbalance will manifest as digestion problems and low self-esteem.

An imbalance in any or a combination of these lower chakras present as poor creativity and imagination, inability to visualize, readily accepts even an unacceptable situation because of a lack of ambition or higher dreams, poor reasoning power, a tendency to be overbearing and tactless, easily gets trapped in the daily doldrums of life, and a strong disconnect with the divine.

The upper chakras in ascending order are the following…

4) Anahata or Heart Chakra

Situated at the very center of your cardiovascular system, the Heart Chakra governs the heart, the blood vessels and your lungs. Like the cardiovascular system, the Heart Chakra not only forges connections with the other energy centers of the body, it enables an individual to form relationships with others. An imbalance in the Heart Chakra presents with respiratory problems like asthma and high blood pressure and angina/chest pains.

5) Visshuddha or Throat Chakra

Located in the throat and close to the thyroid gland, the Throat Chakra regulates your communication skills and other modes of self-expression. An imbalance in the Throat Chakra will lead to frequent sore throat and other infections and hormonal problems. It also prevents you from communication well, so that you tend to feel isolated.

6) Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

Situated at the point above where your eyebrows meet, the Third Eye Chakra governs your intuition and insight on both the physical and spiritual planes. An imbalance in the Third Eye Chakra prevents you from connecting with the world around you and the cosmos. It also renders you blind to your place and purpose in the Universe.

7) Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Located at the top of your head, the Crown Chakra is the key energy center that connects you with divine energy. Its performance is largely dependent upon maintaining the balance with the other chakras of the body. Aside from frequent headaches and dizziness, an imbalance in the Crown Chakra may present with depression, confusion, seizures, mental blurring, light sensitivity, and lack of empathy.

A person with an imbalance in the upper chakras has the tendency to appear “spaced out”, have concentration difficulties, unable to finish tasks, lack common sense, and have difficulty living in this world and connecting with the universe.

Why You Should Balance Your Chakras

As can be seen above, an imbalance in just one of the chakras has profound effects not only upon physical health, but also the spiritual well-being of a person. If a chakra imbalance is suspected, you should try to take some of the online chakra tests in order to determine which energy center is out of whack. Once the problem chakra has been identified, balance can be restored through meditation and chakra balancing.

Balance Your Chakra Using Subliminal Messages

If you haven’t done it yet, take some time to heal and balance your chakras to ensure a better flow of Prana and Chi in your energy system.  Check out the subliminal audio messages that I produced below:

Subliminal Audio: Heal and Balance Your Chakra